墨点 Ink Blot #3: Floating Ciphers

10 Jun

Originally posted @ http://blog.sina.com.cn/s/blog_5ff9c4b70100vl5y.html.

I’ve just signed an apartment contract for a 2 bedroom place in Wudaokou. Xiuming is my intermediary agent. She is slightly younger than me, new to the biz, having just moved here from Hebei last year.

There have been a few moments where we’ve both struggled with understanding proper registration and leasing procedure. She’s proposed some short-cuts, I’ve had to rein her back in at times, and we’ve both made plenty compromises and mistakes. I now know that all this time, we were really only ringing around one prime unwritten goal, that we would see all this through to its satisfactory end.

Today, we signed a contract, after four days that oscillated between 8 AM and 11 PM, rain showers and sunny skies, wait rooms and motor lanes.

So the lease is binding, but properly speaking, was a mere formality. Indeed, all it got was a quick go-through from me, and was probably not even originally typed by her. Beneath the words, floating ciphers, was one simple sentiment: we are happy.

***

I enjoy talking with her, and we will probably ring around something else soon — the dinner table, most likely.

Leave a comment