Vegging Out [Day 3]

12 Sep

From September 10 through October 10, I plan to be a vegetarian. Just as the dates are almost completely arbitrary, so are my reasons.

I’ve written about my quasi-vegetarianism, or “vaguetarianism,” in the past. I haven’t changed my stance on meat since that entry, but after having a few conversations with vegetarians, I decided it would be interesting to join them for a month.

For one, I think I’ll become more conscious about my food choices when I eat out. Second, it’s an incentive for me to cook more since most vegetarian things I get at restaurants can be made at home, and at a cheaper cost. Third, I’ll take my overall nutrition into account more often, now that I have to be more conscientious of where I’ll get my iron, protein, etc.

But honestly, the biggest factor in the decision was the first one. The interest in vegetarianism became a commitment (albeit only a month-long one) shortly after I ate a big cheesesteak at Vinnie’s. A month-long form of dietary penance for the quarter-cow I ate, I suppose.

My friend Laura suggested I blog about whatever physical/mental changes I have during this month, which I think could be a valuable exercise. I’ll admit that I don’t foresee any big disruptions to my lifestyle. All it means is no more occasional mushroom burger at Bongo Burger, no more bimonthly-ish chicken burritos, no more hunting wildlife on the weekends. This is doable.

This is doable.

But maybe I don’t have to try and convince myself. In the past few days, I have had corn chowder, vegetarian tacos, chocolate chip cookies, a peanut butter & jelly sandwich, among other things. If this is penance, then I haven’t quite had feelings of contrition yet.

Today I made ratatouille.

This is not ratatouille. This is the most grotesque cutting board I have ever seen in my life. We inherited it from the previous tenants.
It has become the designated hot plate mat.

Fresh out of the oven!

You can’t really go wrong with nice veggies, tomatoes, romano cheese, and mushrooms. I added some sun dried tomatoes, which in retrospect was a very wise decision.

I have some theories as to why vegetarian foods weren’t so popular in the recent past, but I’ll share those another time.

3 Responses to “Vegging Out [Day 3]”

  1. Gennia September 13, 2010 at 12:04 PM #

    I did the same thing for a while! But it was disrupted by traveling. I don’t believe in restricting my diet while traveling since I want to try all the local cuisine I can get my hands on. But now that I’m back home, I think I’ll go back to saying no to meat. I actually didn’t miss meat while not eating it. Best of luck to you!

    Have you read Omnivore’s Dilemma? Great book, you should check it out.

    • Paulina September 18, 2010 at 10:09 PM #

      I’ve read the first few chapters in which Pollan talks about America’s corn obsession. I had no idea!

      But I should probably read the rest. He’s also teaching at the Journalism School at Berkeley, and occasionally gives talks. Nothing yet this semester. I’m keeping my eyes peeled and fingers crossed, tho.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Why Being a Vegetarian Sucked [Day 6] « _mphatic - September 16, 2010

    […] quote, from a previous entry was unclear. Better put: I have some theories as to why being a vegetarian sucked, prior to the […]

Leave a Reply

