photo storytime

4 Dec

Because I can!

This photo ended up on the front page of the Daily Cal in May 2008. I am prominent in the second row, unfortunately gigantesque next to the petite Korean girl in front of me. While I had planned to go to the protest, I didn’t intend to hold a sign (especially one with an incomprehensible stricken character … see upper right-hand corner), and I certainly didn’t expect to end up in media photos. I’d relate the story of how this all came to be, but that would take away from my protester cred.

S.Lam sits, reading on the skeletal futon. A few moments after this, her leg fell victim to its bony wrath. I actually have a video clip of her fuming about it. Incidentally, people were in the process of moving in and out, hence the eclectic mix of wooden elements.

Happy at a 798 Gallery in Beijing!

Exuberant. Surrounded by wonderful friends after my commencement ceremony.

Our apartment complex replaced some large number of toilets, and left the old ones by the parking lot. I’m sure this was hygienic, and that it was in our best interest to take advantage of this photo opportunity.

3 Responses to “photo storytime”

  1. initialstatic December 15, 2009 at 11:42 AM #

    yes, i agree about those toilets.
    also skeletal futon was a beast.

  2. Alice December 23, 2009 at 9:34 PM #

    why you rebel, you.

  3. Jen Tse January 14, 2010 at 10:52 AM #

    Clicked on your link today while being bored at work. Not much to do today since my supervisor is taking a vacation for a few days. Ah, caught by my other boss! Oh well, don’t plan on staying at Go Smile for long so whatever. I’m interviewing for a few positions so hopefully will have a better job soon. Nice to see your new pix of Indonesia & these other older pix. The protests bring back memories… We were just looking at the crowds with Mi Jung & ended up participating in my first Berkeley protest. Half of my face is to the left of the Korean girl & 1/3 of MJ’s face is her right. Classic! Way to end our senior year. 🙂 Continue having a great time at Indonesia! Bye bye for now.

Leave a Reply

